Not a musician :)

Not a musician :)

Postby RodionGork » Sat Dec 24, 2016 5:40 pm

Hi Friends!

Regretfully, I'm not a musician. I'm IT-engineer by occupation and also spend my free time giving electronics classes in some sort of physics-dedicated school. I barely can play a few chords on guitar accompanying my singing or whistling and another my connection to the world of music is that my wife is a professional violinist and also plays piano.

Few weeks ago I decided to try the dream of my childhood and purchased an old accordion - one of those which were brought here from Germany immediately after the end of the WW2. After having a bit of exercise I understand that is horribly out of tune on several (many enough) keys. I took it apart and get some idea of how it is built. I've found most of the leather "back-valves" curling and sometimes not covering the holes - and some reeds with the stains of rust.

After scratching reeds a bit with a file, tearing and re-gluing leather etc I've managed to fix some keys which gave different tones on pull and push. Though still my wife prefers me to play with two doors shut behind our rooms :) Nevertheless I think to improve it a bit more later. And probably to buy another one in a better condition. I feel that my experiments with filing and gluing will give me good insight of how to choose and test...

So thank you all for allowing to join your community. My warmest greetings from Saint-Petersburg (known in the past as Leningrad), Russia. There is a small old video below - I'm trying to accompany my wife in playing a well-known tune. Luckily she plays much louder so it may pass unnoticed that I even couldn't always maintain the proper tempo :lol:

Ah, and Merry Christmas to everyone! Sorry for forgetting about this (for some vague reasons we celebrate it two weeks later) :)

Watch on youtube.com
RodionGork

Improver
Improver

Re: Not a musician :)

Postby hais1273 » Sun Dec 25, 2016 7:34 am