New member from Minnesota

New member from Minnesota

Postby Markl » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:05 am

Growing up there was always a wedding or family gathering that involved polka's and accordions and such. About 5 years ago my father passed away and left me his accordion. I had it appraised and evaluated to see what it was worth and any maintenance it may need. Turned out it was in pretty good shape for a 3 reed and I decided maybe I should see if I could learn how to play it after all I self taught myself how to play the guitar, but opted for lessons on this one. My instructor is Ken Mahler who has been selling, servicing and playing accordions for almost all his life. A wonderful man to also now call a friend besides being a great teacher, just search his name on YouTube and you will see what I'm talking about. Lucky to be 20 minutes from him.

During the course of lessons I noticed when he would play the same thing on his Black and Gold Hohner Gola it sounded so much fuller (he also played it better than I), but the reason was I had a 3 reed, well, I had to get a 4! So he threw me a deal on a beautiful 120 key bass Petosa with a large keyboard (I'm a big fella and these large hands need some room). So needless to say I got rather committed and still taking lessons and improving everyday considering I never played the piano nor could I read the music and let alone play it, so it's been challenging at times. Yea, I had some basic understanding, but I do much better with it now than then.

Last week I picked up a helluva deal on a Roland FR7, which has added another dimension of playing this instrument and learning about the FR7. Really enjoying playing this one as well, I think the Petosa is getting jealous! I've posted several questions about it in the Yahoo Group regarding the Rolands' and got some great feedback and info and I'm sure from time to time I will be picking everyone's brain here as well on well, everything.

Mark
Markl

Beginner
Beginner